Lets see the description, characteristics and every other information related to all the grahas in astrology. These are helpful in depicting a native’s physical character and psychological tendency.

Like, if a native’s chart has Lagna connected to Saturn, with position/ aspect/ conjunction/ star lord, then the native’s physical body will be influenced by Saturn. Similarly, we can get an outline about an individual with these basic rules.

The term Nakshatra and Constellation have been used interchangeably in this post and is preferred over the word “star”. In Sanskrit, Nakshatra means “non-decaying”/ “that which will not cease to exist” and “tra” for “traayate, meaning protection or that which will guide humankind”. Thus, when our sages mention a Krittika or other constellation, it’s not just a physical star that we see in the cosmos, but there’s a spiritual dimension embedded in it. This is a unique greatness attributed only to Hindu Astrology (or) Vedic Astrology, as it is called in the West.

1. Sun

Has honey colored eyes with a square body and clean habits. Represents bilious, intelligent nature but has limited hair on the head. Lagna connection with Sun, can indicate a bald headed individual. Sun represents the soul of an individual and also an karaka for father.

Sun primarily rules over eyes, bones and heart in the body. In the society, Sun rules over temples and government/ government offices, aristocrats, prime ministers in general. Other mundane planetary characteristics will be covered in a separate post.

Sun rules the constellations Krittika, UttaraPhalguni and UttaraShada. The apparent motion of Sun is 1° each day.

Thus, Sun stays in one Rashi for a month or 30 days, in a Constellation for approximately 13.3 days. These details will be helpful in timing of events, as Sun represents the month of fructification of an event.

2. Moon

Moon is a windy, phlegmatic planet with round body and attractive face. She is learned, has auspicious looks, sweet speech, is fickle minded and very lustful. Moon is karaka for mother and rules over mind, water, blood and mucus (basically anything liquid) in the body.

In mundane terms, Moon rules over water bodies like rivers, oceans and signifies journey or voyage overseas.

Moon rules over the Rohini, Hasta and Sravana constellations.

Moon’s approximate motion per day is 13°20′ which is the span of a Nakshatra. Hence, Moon stays in one Nakshatra for a day and covers the entire zodiac in 27 days. In timing of an event, Moon represents the day of fructification of an event.

3. Mars

Mars has blood-red eyes, is fickle-minded, liberal, bilious, given to anger and has thin waist, thin physique. It signifies bone marrow, courage, analytical thinking, arguing and active, aggresive, fiery nature in an individual.

In mundane terms it represents war, fighting, weapons, engineering, police, military, excise, defense departments and sharp objects, any places of fire.

It rules over Mrigashira, Chitra and Dhanishta constellations. Mars stays about 45 days in a Rashi and about 20 days in each Nakshatra.

4. Mercury

Mercury is endowed with an attractive physique and the capacity to use words with many meanings. He is fond of jokes and has a mix of all three humours. It represents skin, nerves, speech and speech organs in a body.

Mercury also represents maternal uncles, cousins and communication, writing skills and intelligence of a native. In mundane terms, it signifies sports, play grounds. communication and transportation systems like newspapers, internet articles, tv media, publishers, cellular networks, metro and other transportation mechanisms.

Mercury rules over Aslesha, Jyestha and Revati constellations. It stays about 30 days in each Rashi and hence approximately 13.3 days in each Nakshatra.

5. Jupiter

Jupiter has a big body, tawny hair and tawny eyes, is phlegmatic, intelligent and learned in all shastras. Jupiter represents knowledge and wisdom and is termed as “Brihaspathi” or “Deva Guru”. Jupiter represents liver, fat, bile liquid in the body and obesity, diabetes and brain related issues.

Jupiter acts as a karaka for children and financial matters of a native. In mundane terms, it signifies banks, administrative, judicial buildings and Ministers in a country.

Jupiter rules over Punarvasu, Visakha and PoorvaBhadrapada constellations. It stays in each Rashi for about an year and approximately 5 months 10 days in each Nakshatra.

Jupiter signifies the year in the timing of fructification of an event.

6. Venus

Venus is charming, has a splendorous physique, is excellent or great in disposition, has charming eyes, is a poet, phlegmatic, windy and has a curly hair. Venus represents feminine nature like Moon, and thus a native whose chart is dominated by Venus, represents a feminine natured individual.

Here, feminine doesn’t necessarily need to be identified with a woman or a girl, but simply means, a native who has deep emotional connect and motherly care towards society and others.

Venus signify reproductive organs in a body and secretion fluids like semen. It is also a ministerial planet just like Jupiter and also represents knowledge along with materialistic luxuries.

Venus is an artistic planet and thus signify entertainment, sports persons, musicians, dancers and every artistic person in the society is influenced by Venus in one way or the other.

Venus rules over Bharani, PoorvaPhalguni and PoorvaShada Nakshatras. It stays for about 1 month in each Rashi and thus 13.3 days in each Nakshatra.

7. Saturn

Saturn has an emaciated, long physique, has tawny eyes, windy in temperament, has big teeth, is indolent, lazy, lame and has coarse hair.

Saturn denotes karma and karmic duty, grief (because people experience sadness due to their past life deeds), service or labor work and hence represents the working class in the society. This is one of the reasons, that Saturn is termed “Udyoga Karaka” meaning Saturn is the karaka for profession.

Saturn signifies muscles, hair, bones, joints and joint pains, teeth cavities, long standing diseases and in-born defects in a native. In mundane terms, it represents burial grounds, filthy places and in constrast, it also signifies old and dilapidated temples, especially Shiva.

Most people fear Saturn, especially in many Hindu families. But, actually Saturn is the “Karma Pradata” meaning, he is the giver of Karma.

In the natural zodiac, Saturn gets exalted in the Libra or Thula rashi which has a symbol of a balancing scale. Also, Saturn’s moolatrikona, meaning office or work place, gets in Aquarius rather than Capricorn sign. This perfectly tells Saturn stands for “equality for all” and “service to mankind”, as he makes his moolatrikona in a rashi which represents the worker class.
Also, one cannot delve into spirituality without Saturn influence in his chart.

One should be feared of his own misdeeds and not the most noble planet Saturn, who just gives what we have earned from many millions of births.

Saturn rules over Pushyami, Anuradha and UttaraBhadrapada Nakshatras. It stays for about 2.5 years in a Rashi and approximately 13 months and 10 days in each Nakshatra.